All’inizio

Hello, everyone! Just a few short months ago, I got the biggest news of my life thus far: I was awarded a Fulbright grant to research oil economics in Italy! Right now, the excitement is still very prevalent, but I can feel the panic beginning to set in. I’ll be leaving in October and staying for nine months, until July, missing Halloween and Thanksgiving and Christmas and New Year’s and birthdays and even my anniversary. There’s a lot that will happen while I’m removed from my American life, and yet I find myself looking forward to the experience.

I’ve never been one for change, for better or for worse. I am unashamed to admit that I cried on the first day of freshman orientation and did not want my family to leave. For a serial homebody, going anywhere away from what you’ve known is difficult, and it only gets worse the farther away you go. And now I am going across the ocean, which is a long way away (in case you didn’t know.)

At this point, everything is basically ready for my departure. My Visa came through last week (yay!) and my flights are booked. I still have to find luggage and actually pack, but those are just details, right? The biggest obstacles are behind me. (But those details will be the subjects of many new posts to come.)

—————-

Ciao, a tutti! Alcuni (corti) mesi fa, ho ricevuto la notizia più bella nella vita mia: ho vinto una borsa di studio Fulbright per ricercare le economiche di petrolio in Italia! Adesso, l’eccitazione é molto predominante, ma sento che farmi prendere dal panico. Sto per partire a Ottobre e passerò nove mese a Bologna, fino a luglio, mi perderò Halloween, thanksgiving, il Natale, il anno nuovo, compleanni, e neanche il mio anniversario. C’è molto che succederà durante il soggiorno dagli stati uniti, ma mi trovo aspettando all’esperienza.

Non mai mi piace il cambiamento. Sono senza vergogna di riconoscere che ho pianto sul giorno primo di orientazione e non avevo voluto per la famiglia di partire. Per un casalingo perpetuo, andare nessuna parte dalla casa che si aveva saputo è troppo difficile, e viene ancora peggio il più lontano che si va. E adesso io attraverso il oceano.

A quello tempo, tutto è piú o meno pronto per la partenza. Il visto è arrivato la scorsa settimana (che fortunato!) e i voli sono riservati. Devo ancora comprare la valigia e preparare quella valigia, ma questi sono particolari, davvero? Gli ostaccoli più grande sono ottenuti. (Ma quelli ostaccoli saranno i soggetti di messaggi al futuro.)


One response to “All’inizio

Leave a Reply

