A Bologna

I have been in Bologna for four days. In that time, I got lost, I ate a lot, and I learned about a new city. Bologna is a beautiful place. The people that I have met are patient and nice, and the university is wonderful. Already I for more comfortable here than in Rome.

For example, when I arrived on Monday, my suitcase was too heavy for me to lift down, so a boy gave me a hand. The taxi driver was really nice, and he was delighted when I gave him a tip. Sarah, the girl I am staying with, is really sweet.

I have done a lot this week:
– I arrived in Bologna
– I bought an Italian cell phone (bye bye, Blackberry! Though I still keep in turned on and with me because I like my screen. And it’s comforting.)
– I applied for a permit of stay. It’s basically like an extension of my Visa, declaring that I’m actually here and giving the government a way to contact me.
– I searched for an apartment. (No success yet, but I’m hopeful.)
– I learned how to use a lighter (for the stove, guys. I’m not smoking.)

Other things I learned:
– Not all of the Italians are fashionistas, just most of them. The rest still wear camo pants and rock Christmas sweaters year-round.
– I am always going to look like an American, and that’s a good thing. An American gets away with messing up the formal, using the wrong verb tense or not knowing a verb, and also lacking vocabulary.
– Getting lost is fun… if you have a map.
– Chestnuts are to the Italians what pumpkins are to Americans: a delicious sign of fall.
– I am stronger than I thought I was. It’s a good thing.


—–

Sono stato a Bologna quattro giorni. Nel questo tempo, ho avuto perso, ho mangiato molto, e ho imparato alla città nuova. Bologna è una città bellissima. Le persone che ho incontrato sono pazienti e simpatiche, e l’Universita’ e’ magnifica. Sento ancora piu’ comoda qui che a Roma.

Per esempio, quando ho arrivato lunedì, la valigia mia era troppo pesante, allora un ragazzo mi ha datto un mano. Il taxista era molto simpatico, e era estasiato quando l’ho dato la mancia. Sarah, la ragazza con cui passo la settimana, è carina.

Ho fatto molto questa settimana:
– Sono arrivata a Bologna
– Ho comprato un telefonino
– Ho applicato per un permesso di soggiorno
– Ho cercato un appartamento (non ancora è successo, ma spero di si)
– Ho imparato come si usa un accendino

Altre cose che ho imparato:
– Tutti gli italiani non sono “fashionista,” solo molti. Il resto ancora porta i pantaloni del tessuto mimetico e i pullover di Natale tutto l’anno.
– Sempre sembrerò come un’americana, e quella è bene. Un’americana cavarsela errori nell’usa del formale, dei verbi (i tensi), e anchi del vocabolario.
– Perdersi è divertente….quando si ha una mappa.
– Le castagne sono per gli italiani che le zucche sono per gli americani: un segno delisioso del autunno.
– Sono più forte che ho pensato.


One response to “A Bologna

Leave a Reply

